UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Announce five $20,000-Awards

16 May 2017

In honor of International Literacy Day, celebrated on 8 September, UNESCO opens a call for nominations in two categories of International Literacy Prizes 2017: the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards) and the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards).

Each of the five winners receives USD 20,000.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize, established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea, stands for the development of mother-tongue literacy education and training. The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the Peoples Republic of China, promotes literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded the excellence and innovation in the field of literacy, with over 475 projects and programmes recognized for their achievements. By giving out those prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices for building literate societies.

The theme of this years UNESCO International Literacy Prizes is Literacy in a Digital World.

Who can apply?
- individuals, institutions and organizations promoting literacy;
- specific programmes/projects with a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years;
- programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy
Prizes in the past five years.

How to apply?
- register an account at www.unesco.org/ilp/account;
- fill in and submit the electronic application form in English or French to UNESCOs
Secretariat through the National Commission for UNESCO in a corresponding state by 31 May 2017 (midnight, Paris time). If applying through an International NGO, which maintains official relations with UNESCO, please provide project information and request a nomination letter directly from the NGO, to be attached to the electronic application form by 14 June 2017.

Important dates:
31 May 2017: applications deadline;
14 June 2017: nominations deadline;
August 2017: announcement of the prizewinners;
September 2017: award ceremony.

Any enquiries with regard to the nomination process should be addressed to the Secretariat of the Prizes (Section of Youth, Literacy and Skills Development, Division for Policies and Lifelong Learning Systems, Education Sector):
tel.: +33 1 45 68 08 59;
e-mail: literacyprizes(at)unesco.org.

education transforms lives

Permanent link: http://en.unesco.kz/unesco-international-literacy-prizes-announce-five-20-000-awards